Go Back   X2 Pandora Modproject Forum > English Section > Mod Universe

Mod Universe You can post here and Talk with other Peoples.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26.03.2008   #21
Chris Gi
KorintenKacker


 
Chris Gi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08.02.2008
Location: Pilkunnussija
Posts: 3,728
Thanks: 10
Thanked 158 Times in 116 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Chris Gi
Default

This will depend on YOU!

What I mean by this: The Pandora Map uses a modified version of the standard map, with additional sectors. The sectors included with the standard map still have the same asteroids. Some of the new sectors are full of asteroids, but only a few. Most sectors are almost void.
Pandora uses scripts to build the universe. If you start a new game, stations and asteroids are placed by scripts all over the universe.
There is a special configuration file. By means of this file you can influence, how many stations and asteroids are built. This way you can achieve a universe with no additional roids except those predefined on the map.
Chris Gi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26.03.2008   #22
Graceburn
X² Pandora Mod Team


 
Join Date: 25.03.2008
Location: Getsu Fune
Posts: 471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to Graceburn
Default

Oh, wow! does this mean that each user of Pandora will have the same, yet different, universe. This is a really great idea, and as i am writing this i had another idea, do you think if everyone sets their universe config file to the same, maybe a special, secret one, it could unlock a multiplayer feature? or is this just to big to truly realise?
__________________
Graceburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26.03.2008   #23
Chris Gi
KorintenKacker


 
Chris Gi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08.02.2008
Location: Pilkunnussija
Posts: 3,728
Thanks: 10
Thanked 158 Times in 116 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Chris Gi
Default

A Multiplayer feature is not possible in X2 (or X3), because it's not part of the game engine. Thus no mod will ever add this feature as long as the source code of X2 is not openly available.

But you're right: every player will have it's own universe. Each time you restart you get a new universe. It's a little bit like the very first time you played X2. You don't know the good places to build a factory anymore, because each time it's different.
And there's another advantage of this feature: you can tweak your universe to the PC you're using.
And you can influence how big sectors are.
Chris Gi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26.03.2008   #24
Adlantis
X² Pandora Mod Team


 
Adlantis's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10.02.2008
Location: Trinity Sanctum
Posts: 925
Thanks: 31
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Adlantis
Default

Picture
Adlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26.03.2008   #25
Sammy
X² Pandora Mod Team

 
Join Date: 09.02.2008
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cooler Asteroid! Und der Planet mit seiner deutlich sichtbaren Lufthülle ist auch echt scharf! Will haben!
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26.03.2008   #26
Chris Gi
KorintenKacker


 
Chris Gi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08.02.2008
Location: Pilkunnussija
Posts: 3,728
Thanks: 10
Thanked 158 Times in 116 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Chris Gi
Default

I don't know what SWAHILI!!! had in mind modding this sector. But I think this sector's much too interesting to let it stay an "Unknown Sector" without any further use in the story line....
Chris Gi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26.03.2008   #27
SWAHILI!!!
X² Pandora Mod Team

 
SWAHILI!!!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 03.03.2008
Posts: 541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay, I was wondering how many people would question that thing there, Adlantis.

The sector is supposed to be (at least what I had in mind at the time I was making it), an ancient and slightly primitive race's mining colony. That's why if you look here:

and here:

There are drills everywhere on the really big asteroid.
So this thing here:

Is supposed to be a highly primitive space station guarded by two (deactivated) drones. You can fly through the tunnel and everything, it's pretty cool.
Oh, and for any of you that are wondering, this here:

Is a 'man-made' asteroid belt.

Oh, and @ Chris Gi, do you think you could try to fly way out far away from the center of the sector so we can get a really good look at that planet? It looks pretty tight.

Edit Chris Gi:
Fixed picture links.
SWAHILI!!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26.03.2008   #28
Chris Gi
KorintenKacker


 
Chris Gi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08.02.2008
Location: Pilkunnussija
Posts: 3,728
Thanks: 10
Thanked 158 Times in 116 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Chris Gi
Default

Ok, I can take another screenshot this evening.

Mind if we give this sector a prominent role in the story line of Pandora? The sector needs to be on a different place, then.
Chris Gi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26.03.2008   #29
SWAHILI!!!
X² Pandora Mod Team

 
SWAHILI!!!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 03.03.2008
Posts: 541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sure, I'd love it if that sector got an important role in the storyline.

And what do you mean by 'needs to be on a different place'?
SWAHILI!!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26.03.2008   #30
Chris Gi
KorintenKacker


 
Chris Gi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08.02.2008
Location: Pilkunnussija
Posts: 3,728
Thanks: 10
Thanked 158 Times in 116 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Chris Gi
Default

Great.
I'm not sure which sector this should be. But if we use it, it will change position with another sector, and no longer be on coordinates 12,10.
Chris Gi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© X² Pandora Dev Team 2007-2016